Joe Thomas, Darrelle Revis, Dwight Freeney Lead Freshman Eligible 2023 Pro Football Hall of Fame Nominees

Six-time All-Pro offensive lineman Joe Thomas, shutdown cornerback Darrelle Revis and fast pass rusher Dwight Freeney headlined the list of nine eligible freshmen selected from the 129 nominees to the 2023 class of the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

The other freshmen eligible are running back Chris Johnson, offensive lineman Jahri Evans, linebackers NaVorro Bowman and James Harrison, defending defenseman Kam Chancellor and punter Shane Lechler.

The nine new candidates for 52 Pro Bowl berths and 30 All-Pro first-team selections, with five of the nine winning Super Bowls and five making up a team of the entire decade. Johnson also won an Offensive Player of the Year award in 2009 and Harrison was named best defensive player in 2008.

A six-time All-Pro offensive lineman over an 11-year career with the Browns, Joe Thomas is one of nine eligible players to qualify for the 2023 class of the Pro Football Hall of Fame for its first year. Ken Blaze/US TODAY Sports

Thomas was one of the best tackles in the league during a lasting 11-year career that saw him select first-team All-Pro six times and second-team twice. He had a streak of 10,363 consecutive plays while playing for the Browns his entire career.

Revis, who was also selected in the 2007 draft, moved a lot more, spending time with the Jets, Tampa Bay, New England and Kansas City.

His best play came in New York, where he was a first-team All-Pro from 2009-11 and finished second in the 2009 Defensive Player of the Year voting, when he repeatedly knocked out top receivers by sending them to “Revis Island.” ” to send. “

Revis spent a year in New England and helped the Patriots win the Super Bowl in the 2014 season.

Freeney spent most of his 16-year career at Indianapolis, where his speed off the rim and dominant spin movement led to 125.5 career sacks. He anchored a defense that complemented a powerful offense led by Peyton Manning and helped the Colts win the Super Bowl in the 2006 season.

The list will be reduced to 25 semifinalists in November and to 15 finalists in January before the selection committee discusses and chooses the class of 2023 to be decided in August.

The 15 finalists will be reduced to 10 at the selection meeting early next year and then to five. The last five candidates must receive 80% of the votes of the panel to enter the room.

The list of nominees consists of 67 offensive players, 50 defensive players and 12 special teamers.

2022 finalists to be nominated again for next year are defensive Jared Allen; tackle Willie Anderson; defensive back Ronde Barber; returnee Devin Hester; recipients Torry Holt, Andre Johnson and Reggie Wayne; linebackers Zach Thomas and Patrick Willis; and edge rusher DeMarcus Ware.

The committee will also consider former Chargers and Cardinals coach Don Coryell in the coaching category and three senior candidates: Super Bowl V MVP Chuck Howley and All-Pro defenders Joe Klecko and Ken Riley. They will also come in if they get support from at least 80% of voters in January.

Supply hyperlink

Leave a Comment